Silenced Society

Joseph Conrad’s style of writing enriched with a broad vocabulary created an incredible frame narrative novella which emphasized the darkness within ourselves and the people around us. Marlow’s journey upriver is described as strange and full of disturbing scenes, yet he does not do anything approaching the issue. His occupation and professional skills are distinguished throughout book 2’s section and during the repairing and navigating of the steamer, it grants Marlow a distraction from the crude acts of the natives. While repairing the steamer and then piloting it, he finds himself having little to do with the exploitation and disturbing acts surrounding him although he realizes that it’s wrong. We are all faced with the pressure and fear from a silenced society, what will people think of us if we said what we wished? What would the consequences be? Would this risk my job? Would people think otherwise and judge me for my opinion? These are questions we ask ourselves each and every other day, we grew up in a world where being accepted is something we must aim for when looking for success. Therefor creating us into nothing but a copy, not unique or thinking for ourselves. What has our world come to? A silent society.

Conrad, J. (1998). Heart of Darkness. In C. Watts (Ed). Heart of Darkness and other Tales. (pg 135-252). New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Heart Of Darkness, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Your topic is very thought-provoking, and definitely makes me consider how people act under certain circumstances. However, I think the post was a little difficult for me to read; the sentence structure seems to be a little rushed.

  2. I have learn some just right stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you put to create this sort of excellent informative site.

  3. I didnt look for this, but I like this, found it helpful! Keep up the good work!

  4. lookinginthestars

    I enjoyed reading your opinion on our current society today and how that was connected to Heart of Darkness. I agree with your statement regarding the need for members of society to be “liked” as they aim for success. The questions that you raise about sharing our voices as we wish are very thought provoking; they left me wondering, ‘what would happen to me if I had spoke my mind?’ I would have liked to have seen a specific quote from the novella included in your post; by sharing a quote, you could show the readers exactly which sentence Conrad wrote that sparked your ideas for this post!

  5. You have some really awesome ideas here. It is so true how people will act differently when they are placed into different situations. The last line of your post was very strong and stuck in my mind leaving me with something to think about further.

  6. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  7. I am fond of your relation of “The Heart of Darkness” to our silent society. It is true that our society is based on outdated sexist standards. These standards are traditional such as men should not do ballet or women should not fly planes. The pressure that everyone receives to stay the same is remarkable. If an individual steps outside of our societies traditional boundaries they may be faced with negative responses. Most individuals turn away, and stay silent. We as a whole do not speak up for the non-traditional individuals, but there are some people who do. I desire to hear more of your ideas on the peer pressure of society and maybe some quotes from the book to give me an example of what acts Marlow refuses to speak out on.

Leave a Reply

